Doing too many things at once.

The art of doing everything and nothing.

This is something I struggle with a lot. I swing between telling myself ‘you can do so much more in a day than people think’ too ‘shit, I am moving a million miles an hour in 60 different directions and moving nowhere fast.’

Even as I write this I have 6 blog tabs open working on multiple articles at once, I don’t recommend this.

We live in the age of multi-tasking, at a micro level, it is just unproductive, at a macro level it can affect how we view ourselves.

Never becoming a true master or expert in any area, always skimming through topics, 10 books half read, dozens of projects almost finished puts us in a place of a constant beginner never progressing any further in life. 

The greats go deep. Go deep.

I still haven’t mastered doing one thing and one thing only, I wish I could, however, I am not one of those blessed people who grow up knowing what they want to do. I am pulled in multiple directions but all with the same end goal, be world class, at whatever it is.

‘When I was growing up I realized to have the level of success I wanted I couldn’t do it in all the areas I wanted to, I had to pick one thing, I had to decided’ – Will Smith 

At one point in my life, I simultaneously wanted to be an award-winning actor, a world-class skydiver, an olympian and to be a part of the SAS (Special Air Service) in the Australian Military. It is 4 years later and I haven’t done any of the above, with no clear direction or in better words with no priority nothing gets done or everything gets kind of done.

“Most people overestimate what they can do in one year and underestimate what they can do in ten years.” – Bill Gates

This is one of the most helpful quotes I have heard, simply put it is all possible you can be the best, you can be world class, you can do multiple things.

However not at once. (not to limit you)

You need to figure out what is the most important to you or get strategic what is the lead domino, what will make the rest easier to achieve.

This can be hard for younger people to figure out when opportunity is at it’s highest, I suggest getting logical. If emotionally you are lost get logical on how you are going to divide and conquer.

For example:

If you want to be a paid actor living in Hollywood, a world class Skydiver and to Climb Mount Everest. All great achievements, all needing great time and energy sacrificed in order to achieve them.

Figure our what will lead to the others. Acting is notoriously hard to crack starting here at a younger age will allow yourself more time to reach Hollywood, to get ‘that’role that could change your life.

Then whilst spending the majority of your time acting you can spend every Sunday skydiving so over the years you have built up the base skills so when you the time comes to pursue it you’re not starting from the ground floor.

Having both of them achieved by the time your 36 gives you 18 years to achieve them (a substantial amount of time). A great little tidbit about climbing Everest is it’s easier the older you get (or so they say), thus climbing one of the most dangerous peaks in the world later in life not only minimizes risk it allows you to achieve everything else prior and have the funds from your Oscar-winning role to fund the expedition. 

This is one of many ways you could attack it, the thing to take away is that you can achieve it all you! You just need to be patient and work hard on 1 or 2 things at a time.

Compounding interest is where wealth is made give yourself time and allow the energy, time and will you dedicate to a particular area to compound.

Leave a Reply

